September 2014 – The Cleansers

DSC_0438editedAs mentioned in my last post, part two of September’s edit of #TheBathroomShelf is going to be about cleansers. In the overview picture I posted on Tuesday, you can see a couple of eye makeup removers that are still on my shelf but I’m not actually using constantly. The first one it’s the Sephora Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover. I like this guy, I’ve been using it fot the past…five years maybe? Maybe more… Anyway, it does a great job at removing any eye makeup, waterproof or not. It has a bi-phase formula, you need to shake it before you put it on a cotton pad. I’ve recently stopped using it just because this one just removes eye make up and right now I don’t have a good face makeup remover (you’ll see it in a bit), so I’ve been using something else. The second one that you can kind of see in the picture, behind the Sephora one, it’s the Rimmel Gentle Eye Make Up Remover. I don’t hate it totally, but I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. I struggle even at removing non-waterproof mascara with this one. It’s way too gentle. Too much. Now let’s talk about the quartet in the picture above…

 

DSC_0450edited

Caudalie Make-up Remover Cleansing Water: I received it as a gift with purchase at the beginning of the summer and I was excited to try it because I was running out of my Bioderma and they’re both part of the micellaire waters’ family, so I thought it could be a good replacement as face make up remover. Turns out, it’s not my favorite to remove makeup. I feel like using the Bioderma you need to swipe the cotton once and the face makeup is mostly gone, whereas with this one it’s not enough. I still use it to lightly cleanse when I want to wash my face but I don’t want to do a full cleansing routine because, perhaps, I will put on my makeup again later. BTW, it smells good like any Caudalie product.

 DSC_0517picmonkey

Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm: This one I love and I will repurchase this again. Lately, I’ve been using it to remove all of my makeup. I prefer to use it as the first step of my routine, but I’ve also used it as a second cleanse and it works just as well. I take a little on my hands and massage it onto my eyes, face and neck for a couple of minutes and then I place a washcloth dampened with hot water on my face (best feeling ever, just try it!) and remove it. It doesn’t have any scent and it’s not the cheapest, but it works really well. I recommend trying this cleansing balm, and cleansing balms in general, even to the oily/acne prone skin gals like me who are scared by it!

 DSC_0452edpicmon

Avène Gentle Gel Cleanser: It does what it says: it cleanses your skin without being aggressive at all. I use it in the morning or at night after removing the makeup with the Clinique cleansing balm. It comes in a bottle with a pump that is see-through so you can see how much product is left. It smells good and it’s refreshing. Love it.

DSC_0444picmonkey

Clarins Gentle Foaming Cleanser with Cottonseed: I ‘ve been in love with this product until I’ve read that foaming cleansers aren’t really good for the skin because too aggressive and I’ve stopped using it. Then I found a brand new tube hiding in my drawer, I smelled it and I thought “screw it! I can’t throw it away”. I still love to use it, but I have to be careful not to use too much because it can be a little drying.

 

Part three is coming on Thursday!

5 thoughts on “September 2014 – The Cleansers

Leave a Reply

