September 2014 – The Moisturizers and SPF

DSC_0464edit

I’ve tried many moisturizers over the years, and I’ve also gone through a phase during which I wasn’t using any because I thought it was useless to my oily skin. Big mistake. I was just using the wrong kind for my type of skin. Then – for some unknown reason because I had never heard of it, probably just because I love the brand – I picked up the Clarins HydraQuench Cream-Gel at Sephora and it instantly became a holy grail to me. It’s a fresh cream-gel that moisturizes without greasing the skin and it smells so good. This is probably my third or fourth jar. It’s not the best for really dry skin, but there are other options in the range.

DSC_0470edit

 

This Sensai Silk Emulsion (Moist) was a birthday gift, in fact I would have never picked up something that claims to be “moist” for myself. But, actually, the more I use it the more I love it. It comes in a fancy bottle with a pump and, I’m not going to lie, it’s not a product that is affordable to everybody. It has the texture of an emulsion, it really feels like silk and it leaves my skin soft, hydrated and replenished. I only use it at night because it would be too much for my oily skin. This range also includes other two versions of the emulsion, light and super moist, and to be honest I really want to try other of its products.

DSC_0506ed

Now let’s talk SPF for a moment. I suppose you already know how important it is to use sunscreen everyday to protect your skin, even if it’s not a sunny day and if you have darker skin, so I’m not going to give you a long explanation. But I know that many oily skinned gals like me are afraid to put on face SPF during a normal day because it will make them look way too shiny. That’s pretty much inevitable, even though using an oil-free one helps. I am in love (and I am very surprised I have never heard anybody talking about it on the internet) with the Murad Oil-Free Sunblock SPF30 which makes me look a little more shiny at first, but I tone it down with makeup (mattifying primer and powder) afterwards. Other than the fact that I prefer this sunblock to others, its smell is HEAVENLY. Very citrus-y and fresh, it’s a pleasure to put on. And…it leaves no white cast, you have to try it!

P.S.: Sorry for the battered packaging in the picture!

2 thoughts on “September 2014 – The Moisturizers and SPF

Leave a Reply

